Skip to content

Anderson Valley Port Barrel Stout

November 7, 2012

Ahhh, Anderson Valley. The Californian brewery that I’m always excited to drink from. As always, when I think about this brew I’m left wondering why I don’t drink more Anderson Valley. I nabbed this beer during Barcade’s 8th Anniversary, and was so enamored with it that I stated my desire to, “take this beer behind the middle school and get it pregnant.” Of course, at the 8th Anniversary I was there to drink not jot down notes. I was able to collect my thoughts on this amazing stout when to my complete shock it was still up a week later. Perhaps, I must conclude, that this beer was just too awesome for the average man.

The Port Barrel Stout pours a pitch black with a fluffy brown head. The first thing that hits you is the rich port scent; moderate spice, and ripe red fruits. Then combine this with a rich chocolate scent from the stout’s roasted malt and the barest hint of cream, and you get a scent profile that gets you excited to drink this beer. I will admit, I did find the beer a little cloying at times in terms of mouthfeel but it didn’t really ruin my enjoyment of the brew.

You get hit hard up front with the sweet port flavor from the barrels. The first taste is a legitimate ruby port rather than in most barrel-aged brews where the barrel adds a finish, this adds a start. This ruby kick is followed through by a sweet and creamy milk chocolate flavor, that finally settles to good roasted malt. The finish isn’t particularly bitter, and due to the beers cloying nature you get a sort of sweet lingering flavor to the beer.

This is definitely a beer that is both good, and novel. Go out and see if you can get your hands on it, especially if you like Port. If you’re not fond of Port, then I would steer clear of this brew.

From → Beer

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment