Skip to content

All Aboard for… Adventure!

October 10, 2014

What seems like years ago now (and as far as I can remember, it might have been) a friend of mine from college asked a bunch of us if we would be interested in joining him on his first trip outside of the United States with the possible destinations being Europe or Japan.  Now, while I have journeyed across Brazil and spent a few nights in Toronto, I am not the world class traveler many people think I am (my own mother firmly believed I had been to Italy for reasons I do not know), and so I was totally aboard for either trip.  Of course, flights to Europe from the United States’ eastern seaboard are surprisingly cheap, and have only gone down over the years while getting to Japan hasn’t.

Also, while I can’t claim to know what the future has in store for me, I don’t see myself having the same freedom I do right now to just take a vacation to the other side of the world.  As it turns out, neither did anyone else in the group, and so we all decided to take what seems like (even now on the eve of my departure) a once in a lifetime trip.  If I do ever get the chance to go again, I doubt it will be with the exact same group of people, and so like all things (not to get too metaphysical) this really is one of those once in a lifetime events.

Humorously, in the intervening time since we began planning this trip two of my friends have taken rare opportunities to uproot their lives and move to Tokyo.  One of them is there on a prestigious fellowship working with the Japanese government while the other has found a job he loves: teaching English to children of varying ages.  Both have already shared plenty of funny stories about culture shock, difficulties with language, and for both of them the new experience of living in a sprawling megacity.

We have both a lot planned and a lot still up in the air, especially since the weather seems to be turning against us for the first few days.  No matter what big stuff I end up being able to do though, in Japan even going to the bathroom can be a delightful adventure so I think I’ll have a great time no matter what.  I’m very excited for this trip and I can’t wait to come back and tell everyone all about it, though I have no idea if I will make another blog post about it when I return.  It will depend on what happens while I’m over there and how I feel when I get back.

In the meantime, I have been moving forward with other projects.  A novel I finished back in June is finally edited and making the rounds to agents, and while I had high hopes to have another project ready to launch by the time I left technical difficulties have bogged it down.  When I get back from this vacation, the first in many years, I should be ready to throw myself into all sorts of things again and I relish the chance to have some of that post-vacation vigor I hear so much about.

While I’m away, there will be two beer reviews posted and a little fiction for your Sunday this week.  If you’re interested in hearing about my travels, I will have Internet access and will be posting what I can to Twitter (you can find my Twitter in that little sidebar to the right).  If you need to get in touch with me, and are reading this, I assume you already know how to do that when I said I only have Internet access.

Now, if you excuse me, I must master the art of flight before I depart tomorrow because I do not trust society’s metal death-birds to carry me or my luggage.

Chariots!  Chariots!

Written but not Edited,

Mark T. Hrisho

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

