Skip to content

Finback En Verano

September 1, 2014

Despite my penchant for spicy food, and the fact that I have at least three different hot sauces within arm’s reach as I write this, I’m always a little wary when I see hot peppers as a component in beer. I get especially nervous when it’s part of a wheat beer, since that seems slightly off to me for reasons I can’t quite pin down. However, when I was debating on whether or not to taste the Finback En Verano, I reminded myself that Finback has yet to make a beer I didn’t like.

The brew pours a cloudy straw gold with a foamy white head that settles slowly. A strong hot pepper scent will hit your nose first followed by a very small hint of lemon. The body was fairly middle of the road with a milky mouthfeel that helped keep the beer smooth and drinkable.

The scent is very deceptive since the core of this beer a strong wheaty malt flavor. This is then met by a burst of citrus laced with coriander and other spices that fans of wheat beers will recognize. The standard wheat beer flavor then rolls right into a spicy finish that leaves a tingling sensation lingering at the back of your throat. The only warning I’d offer is that as the beer warms, the pepper flavor becomes bolder overtaking more and more of the taste.

Overall though, the En Verano is a distinct brew that is definitely worth a taste. As always, Finback beers of any style are worth trying.

From → Beer

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

