Skip to content

Allagash Fluxus 2013

September 4, 2013

I’d say I talk about Allagash beers a good deal on here, which is strange because I don’t actually consider myself that big of a fan of the Belgian style. The sickly-sweet flavor of the yeast sometimes rubs me the wrong way and the skewering toward sweet and sour tastes also doesn’t sit well with me. Yet, I often find myself here praising Allagash and often commending them to sticking to their guns and focusing on brewing in the Belgian tradition. It probably has to do with the fact that they’re just very good at what they do.

Recently, I got my hands on this year’s Allagash Fluxus, their yearly anniversary beer which they switch up with each passing year. This year’s version was something I found particularly delightful, probably because it poured a nice almost-black color with a pretty tuft of white atop it. The scent was a great combination of dark chocolate, coffee, and sweet Belgian yeast. While the body was middling the beer itself had a smooth almost velvety character to it that always feels good in your mouth.

The main thrust of this beer was roasted malt flavors, mostly of the dark chocolate variety, but that’s not what makes it interesting. What elevates this beer are the flavors of citrus and sugar that sweeten it and give it a distinct character that pairs extraordinarily well with the darker roasted malt profile. These sweeter hints roll into a slight tingle of Belgian yeast before the beer finally comes to a close with a coffee laced finish.

These beers come out once a year and you will be remiss if you don’t get a taste of this one.

From → Beer

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

