Skip to content

RJ Rockers Son of a Peach

August 19, 2013

RJ Rockers is a brewery out of South Carolina. Started by a veteran of the Gulf War, he truly learned about beer and beer brewing while stationed in Germany in the early to mid-90s. In 1997, he along with several close friends opened the RJ Rockers brewery and dedicated themselves to handcrafting delicious brews. From their website you can tell that this a brewery that is still very much in the owner’s hand, and they really are dedicated to what they do.

I might have had one or two of their beers before, but I always see their Son of a Peach widely served during the summer. The other night, looking for something sweet and light-bodied, I decided to give it a go.

The beer was a cloudy orange color with a standard tuft of white foam sitting atop it. The smell of peaches was almost overpowering. If there were other scents, I certainly couldn’t detect them but when you order a peach beer this is basically what you would expect. As I hoped, the beer was ligt in its body and fairly smooth, though that smoothness was almost artificial like drinking juice that you know is mostly high fructose corn syrup, food coloring, and artificial flavoring.

Sadly, the taste did not really win me over either. The Son of a Peach is sickly sweet, with a harsh artificial peach flavor that is exceedingly cloying. There are no other flavors present in this beer, it’s just all peach all the time. In some beers that wouldn’t be a bad thing but something about this beer just didn’t sit right on my tongue. Ultimately, it reminded me of medicine, and an off-brand kind at that.

I can only hope that I had a bad batch of this beer or that the keg was old or maybe that the lines hadn’t been cleaned recently. It’s rare that I want to believe that the bar that I’m in screwed up but that’s how poorly this beer tasted to me.

From → Beer

Leave a Reply

