Skip to content

21st Amendment Back in Black

August 16, 2013

Founded in 2000, 21st Amendment is a fantastic and well known San Francisco Brewery. Founded by a pair of guys who fled southern California for the Bay area solely because they heard the calling for beer. They met in a brewing class at UC Davis and within a few years were able to establish their first brewery. Now, they not only have the brewery but a brewpub just a few blocks from Giant Stadium that has received a lot of favorable press. The name of the brewery itself is derived from 21st Amendment that repealed prohibition, which in my opinion was only one of many legal stumbling blocks that America has overcome to restore its rich brewing past.

For a long time I wasn’t interested in the Back in Black, being a Black IPA from California I figured that I knew what its taste profile was and that I probably wouldn’t be interested. Even though I was fond of other 21st Amendment beers I’ve had (especially the Hell or High Watermelon and the Fireside Chat), I couldn’t quite bring myself to jump on it. Last night however, after a few darker and perhaps overly bitter brews, I decided to say, “Well, a Black IPA from California isn’t going to wreck my palette any more than that.”

While its black color tinged with red hues and light head seemed about what I was expecting, this beer immediately shattered my preconceptions when I took in its scent. Coffee, chocolate, and caramel blossomed up from the beer, providing a sweet and intriguing mixture to my nose. It was light in body and very smooth, and the taste was simply put delicious. The beer was sweeter than anticipated with flavors of milk chocolate and caramel. This was followed by a sweet herbal hop mixture as opposed to some sort of harsh pine or confusing citrus. Finally, the beer comes to a close with a slight coffee finish.

I’m very glad I decided to give this beer a try, and I highly suggest it to anyone else who might be on the fence about it. It’s not what you expect and that’s probably the best thing about it. Enjoy!

From → Beer

One Comment
  1. jeff permalink

    mmmm

Leave a Reply

