Skip to content

Flying Dog Big Black Wit

May 24, 2013

I enjoy a fair number of Flying Dog beers. In fact, I enjoy a fair number of beers in general. One of my favorite things about beers though, is when there’s an obvious innuendo just waiting to be used. Nothing put a bigger smile on my face then saying that, “I need a Big Black Wit in my mouth,” except perhaps when my friend said, “You might say there’s too much of it to put in my mouth.” Furthermore, don’t think me merely childish, the brewery makes these sorts of jokes all the time.

The actual beer is of course very dark, a near perfect pitch black with a fluffy and surprisingly white head. There’s not much of a scent to the beer, merely a light whiff of roasted malt with a barely noticeable hint of Belgian yeast. I was also delightfully surprised to find how light this Big Black Wit was inside my mouth, having a slightly heavier than water mouthfeel and being generally fairly smooth.

Flying Dog’s Big Black Wit explodes in your mouth… with flavor. Opening with rich tastes of dark chocolate, you can just barely catch a hint of nuts riding along underneath the chocolate current. Then you’re met with a nice mixture of black pepper and coriander that lend the beer a certain spice to it. Finally, the beer comes to a close with the slightest touch of sweetness from the Belgian yeast. Really just a phenomenal dark wit.

I would say you should definitely grab a tall Big Black Wit and get it right in your mouth as soon as you can.

From → Beer

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

