Skip to content

Abita Bock (Maibock)

March 25, 2013

Ah, it is apparently that time of year again, the glorious spring in which we sip Maibocks and sing German love songs.* Now, it’s not really that time of year because the Mai in Maibock means May, but as we all know, beer seasons no longer correlate to real seasons. Really, to a point that’s starting to become alarming. Anyway, I’m always happy to have a beer from Abita. Something about their beers always makes me imagine a picturesque Louisiana summer, not that I’ve experienced one but I’ve seen them in the movies with a nice bright yellow filter.

Speaking of color, the beer itself pours a deep amber with a light white head. Scents of sweet malt drift up to your nose when you hold it close with a slight hint of floral scents from hops, and even what I swore was little bit of honey. The mouthfeel was generally smooth, though I felt the beer might have been a little more watery than I wanted. Flavorwise, the beer was fairly standard with a nice bready malt taste and a clean finish with a hint of hop.

This was definitely an easy to drink, and refreshing beer. I wouldn’t say that it’s really worth hunting down, but if you’re in the mood for a nice bock so you can pretend that spring is actually here, it’s worth while. Abita beers generally are.

*: I’m aware “99 Luftballons,” is a protest song, but all other songs in German I know are Ramstein songs, and those are certainly not love songs.

From → Beer

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

