Skip to content

An Important Update From the Desk, About the Desk

December 6, 2012

By the Gods, it’s already December.

How in the 99 Abyssal Planes did that happen so quickly?

[Third Nerdy Reference]

It’s a bright and globally warmed December morning and I’m chugging along in my choo-choo train just like Vice President Joe Biden. I’ve decided to take a few moments to explain what’s been going on in my life, and what the upcoming plans are, perhaps finally explaining some of the projects I’ve been relatively secret about. Why am I writing a post about this? First, this is a blog, so if it’s not about my inflated sense of importance to the world I frankly don’t know what else it might be about. Second, because I’ve been skipping posts here and there, and will probably continue to do so over the next month or two. For example, diligent readers will have noticed the lack of a beer review yesterday, and the lack of a Thursday or Sunday update last week.

The first update is that I’ll be on hiatus from GM-ing duties till early next year, at least. The Fantasy Pirate game came to an end last night after Thirty-Six whopping sessions and a year and four months real time. This hiatus will not affect the writing of “To Be A Young Necromancer In Love,” posts, but it will hopefully have a positive effect on the rest of my writings. For those who have always wondered just how much time I put into my GM-ing: I recently realized it’s anywhere from 2 to 6 hours a week, with big sessions taking more time. Then, there’s the actual sessions themselves which can take 3 to 6 hours. I wouldn’t say that I’m losing those hours, because I do love them, but when you’re trying to work creatively in your off hours, dedicating twelve hours worth of creative energy plus random thoughts on the setting and campaign… can be a little draining.

Luckily though, one of my players is going to be on an extended vacation with her husband, which coincides with the winter holidays that are never friendly for getting together for gaming anyway. So, over the next few weeks I’ll have additional time to actually apply to writing, rather than just talking about how I should be writing.

I know, dear readers, the question is burning upon your lips, “But, Maaaark, what are you writing?”*

The first thing on the list can be easily called, “Mark’s Reckless Self Indulgence Part Deux: Electric Boogaloo.” Though a more fitting title would be, “Paramount Needs To Recognize My Genius And Let Me Make Them A New Star Trek Series.” As some of you know, I did something like this last year. A screenplay I circulated amongst friends called, “Ex Astris Scientia,” about a science vessel dealing with a first contact scenario. Taking a different tack this time around, I’m centering the adventures around the crew of the first in a new class of deep space cruiser, the USS Endeavour. The pilot, taking place in the 25th century is currently titled, “A Cardassian Tragedy.” Based on the fact that it’s well into the fifties in terms of page count, I anticipate to be done with the first draft by the end of the week. I probably won’t go beyond a rough edit of the first draft because I don’t anticipate being able to sell Paramount this within the next year… despite the fact that I have a solid four or five episodes plotted out.**

The big thing I’m working on is the Suburban Fantasy novel. I suppose I’ll give you guys a little tidbit or two. It’s working title is Fire and Athame, or Fire/Athame or Fire&Athame,*** It basically concerns itself with the origin story, or early adventures, of a young witch on the south shore of Long Island. It’s intentionally slow in the beginning, the long build up being a pay-off for the action-packed third act. I’m just now approaching the end of the second act, and therefore the action-packed third act. Writing speed is increasing appropriately. My goal is to have the first draft finished by the New Year, and start querying agents by February or March of 2013 (meaning that if things go really well it might see shelves by late 2014 or mid 2015!). There are many pages between here and there though, and many more after that. Here’s to it!

Following my failure to do so after devouring the first season, I intend to actually write a spec script for MTV’s Teen Wolf. Yes, I’ve watched it. Yes, it actually does manage to tickle my fancy for some reason. I think there’s definitely cool ideas and characters to be developed there, and I think I’d like to be a part of it, if they’ll have me. Oh, plus, Michael Hogan (aka Colonel Tigh from Battlestar Galactica), is in the second season, and he’s sort of a badass. I actually hope to get this done relatively quickly, possibly coinciding with completing Fire/Athame or editing it.

Projects beyond that start to get hazy, but they are definitely piling up. I should really get around to editing the first draft of a film script I wrote last year called A Badass In Fairyland. It was an amusing script about a child hood fantasy hero who, after forgetting his childhood adventures, gets drawn back into them as a genre-savvy twenty-something. Definitely fun, interesting, and apparently something I never showed to anybody. I’m sitting on a complete plot outline for a far more serious script. Right now, all I’m comfortable saying about it is that it’s a politically-driven courtroom drama centered around the moral dilemmas of a small town doctor. I was planning to write it this past October, but I’m not really sure what happened to the time. Following Fire/Athame, I really think I’ve gotten my writing endurance up to give I Am Goblin! a go again. Those who know me know I have a soft spot for the “savage,” races of roleplaying games, and this is highly influenced by those feelings. It would be a series of loosely connected short stories concerning the complicated life of a single Goblin.

Beyond that, I’m not entirely sure, there’s so much more…

Obviously, I would like to get back to Oh, Elisgia! at some point, since after having a friend or two read the first chunk I worked on, I’ve learned it apparently doesn’t suck giant donkey balls. Beyond that, I’m letting an idea called When The Gods Grow Silent continue to cook slow and low, I hope to get to it perhaps before or after Oh, Elisgia! Of course, all of this is plotted out under the assumption that Fire/Athame doesn’t take off like a rocket powered by my dreams. I really do view it as the start to a series of suburban fantasy novels, so you know, that would be cool too.

Really, any of this getting off the ground would be cool.

But it all starts with actually getting stuff done and written, which means concentrating on it. Which means that the blog, which takes up a lot of writing energy as well (in a single month the blog can be responsible for 10,000 to 20,000 words), will suffer a little. Don’t worry though, everybody, it’s all part of the plan.

This carefully laid plan, that you can see from this post, is really really well thought.

Onward, to history!

Chariots, chariots!

 

 

 

 

*: Apparently all of my readers are whiny 12 year old girls.

**: If you want to read it when it’s done, leave a comment on this webzone.

***: I went to William&Mary, where it was a violation of the honor code to not use the ampersand.****

****: This is a lie I got to gain some traction amongst some underclassmen during my time there.

2 Comments
  1. Practical Dailey permalink

    Can I get copies of everything (Star Trek, Bad-Ass in fairyland, Fire&/orAthame, and I do believe you have an Aquaman Script)?

  2. Plinkett permalink

    PIZZA ROLLS

Leave a Reply

