Skip to content

Cigar City Minaret ESB

September 24, 2012

Cigar City is a brewery who my first few experiences with were marred by naming confusion. Namely that I had once had the Jai Alai IPA and then when served it a second time, was given their Maduro Brown. Now while the Brown is delicious, it is not the wonderful, light, and somewhat fruity, IPA I was looking for. Since then, I’ve been following them on twitter, and spent most of the spring and summer wishing that I could get my hands on their often brewery-only Cucumber Saison.

They, like many breweries I talk about on here, recently had a tap takeover at Barcade. Sadly though, by the time myself and my friend had gotten there, some of the more radical beers (namely their Imperial Stout and something based on Oatmeal Raisin cookies) were long gone. This left me to try their Minaret, an Extra Special Bitter, that was on the nitrogen tap.

The Minaret was handed to me with that thick almost shake-like look to it that only nitrogen pours can provide. As it settled, I could make out a beer that was a hazy amber with a fluffy cream colored head at the top. My nose was tickled with the scents of caramel, sweet malt, and fresh fruit. These scents were washed away with a smooth pull from the beer itself, though I did find that the beer had some kind of cling to it.

The taste itself was definitely interesting, as ESB’s generally are. The beer opened with very light taste of caramel and malt. Sweet but not sweet enough to be off putting. This sweetness was then overpowered by a harsh bread flavor, like biting into a somewhat darker, more flavorful bread. Finally, some hops come in to give it a nice crisp bite at the end, not necessarily clean but definitely distinct.

From → Beer

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

