Skip to content

Lagunitas Undercover Investigation Shutdown Ale

May 10, 2011

I have no problem admitting that Lagunitas has produced a few beers that I really enjoy, which is balanced out by them producing a few that I really could care less about if they were never brewed again. While my inability to generate a proper opinion of the brewery is only overshadowed by my inability to determine how to pronounce their name, all of that information is truly just fluff as I dance around the topic of this strange brew that I came to drink at Barcade one evening. I knew it had to have been only recently tapped as there was no description on the menu, and not wanting to dive into what I knew would be a dark brew after a wonderful Sixpoint Diesel, I decided to make a run at this multisyllabic ale. After a quick tasting glass that helped me determine that I wouldn’t hate it, I ordered a full 10 ounces of it (which immediately indicated to me it’s high ABV, hovering at a little under 10%).

What the bartender placed before me was a nice glass filled with a wonderfully tinted ruby-colored liquid that had a beautiful thick white head on the top of it. I leaned down to take a quick sniff of the beer to find my senses overwhelmed by a fruity scent that I couldn’t quite place with a background of wonderfully floral hops. If Lagunitas bottled that scent alone I would probably cover myself in it, but still I realized that if it tasted half as good as it smelled my money was clearly not wasted. I took a light sip and before I realized what had happened, the smooth brew had slid down my gullet leaving behind the taste of sweet fruit, yummy bread, and an extremely mild hop background.

Taking another gulp I found myself continually rewarded by its smoothness and a perfectly crisp ending. Breathing in through my nose and out through my mouth only helped to accentuate the fruity flavor along with a hint of some creamy undertone akin to vanilla. The only real problem I found as I drank it was that I couldn’t nail down the fruit taste, I can only surmise that it’s something I personally don’t eat very often such as grapefruit or some kind of melon. No matter what it was though, it was delicious. Unlike other brews with a high alcohol content I found it extremely sessionable. Never finding it to possess a particularly boozy punch to its taste as it warmed. My final verdict on this brew is that if you get the chance, you should give it a try but don’t let it’s sweet taste pull the wool over your eyes regarding its high abv!

From → Beer

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

